Add different columns representing similar data on different days to x-axis and create a line chart

Juan Anaya 2
Go to solution Solved by Gaia Paolini,

I am new to Spotfire (I have used a rival software before extensively) so sorry if this is a dumb question. I am trying to look at data across multiple days for manufacturing batches, and I have a particular test I am looking at that has data across multiple days. The data is a column for each day and a row for each batch. I thought to use the parallel coordinate plot but realized it's normalized. I would like to do this without transforming the data if possible because this is a small subset of a large dataset.

I included an excel example and chart as an example. Obviously I can do it in excel but would like to include it with hundreds of batches in a dashboard I am creating to look at issues with this particular parameter.

Unless you unpivot your data, I would still suggest you use the parallel coordinates. The right axis does show the original scale, and you can hide the left percentages with the Scale Labels tab in the plot Properties. You cannot readjust the scale limits though.

I think unpivoting is the best option for full control. If you are new to Spotfire, I would recommend to watch some of the Dr Spotfire videos.

Maybe this one can help:

If you only want to unpivot a small subsection of the data, you probably would need to write a script that takes a selection of data and returns an unpivoted data table that you can plot. But that is a bit advanced.